SSL/TLS

Luca vom Bruch

• 3 weeks later...
Marcel Semelka

Yep, me being an IT administrator I have to agree and especially if you tell your customers now to put their order Number, serial Number, real name etc. into their forum profiles.

Even if your data gets stored encrypted in a database (which I really hope it does) the transport of the data is currently not. And with valueable customer data like this, HTTPS should not only be used, but is necessary!

It really is a standard nowadays to provide HTTPS, with encryption becoming more and more important.

You should protect the data of your customers against any type of malicious attacks, like you are protecting your software against piracy.

LetsEncrypt for example is a free solution for that, but it needs renewal every 3 months (which can be automated on the webserver with a script/cronjob).

Usually companies own a wildcard certificate for their domain, cheap solutions for that are starting at about 100-150 $ a year (like AlphaSSL, I just bought a 3-year valid one there a couple of days ago for the company whos IT I'm managing)

A wildcard certificate has the advantage that is allows all of your subdomains to be encrypted by the same certifcate.

For example you get a wildcard certificate for *.flightsimlabs.com, that would allow you to encrypt forums.flightsimlabs.com,support.flightsimlabs.com,redownload.flightsimlabs.com (which is also uncrypted at the moment) etc. with only one certificate.

Just my 2 cents ;)

• Like 5
Chirag Geiantilal

Something like 2 factor auth would be good also, in resume we have our A320-X key here, with 2 factor auth it would be more secure, if someone tries to login in account.

• Like 1
Jonathan Fong
11 minutes ago, Chirag Geiantilal said:

Something like 2 factor auth would be good also, in resume we have our A320-X key here, with 2 factor auth it would be more secure, if someone tries to login in account.