Newbie with take-off problems

Adrian West

Adrian West

Hi. 

I am a newbie to the A320 and am struggling to get this plane into the air. The last 2 take-offs have not gone well. I am following the basic tutorial that comes with the documentation. Before pushing back I was setting up the FCU. While trying to set the altitude to 5000 ft I accidentally right clicked instead of using my mouse wheel, and this put everything into selected mode. Instead of dashes above the speed knob it now showed 100. I pushed the button to try to re-engage managed mode, but nothing happened. So this is how it remained until I tried to take off. My first question is, how do I reset the managed speed mode? I don't know whether this contributed to my later problems when taking off. The FMA showed V/S in green and NAV in blue - what should I be seeing at this point?