V5.1HF1 or V4.5HF3

Predrag Danicic

Predrag Danicic

Ladies and gents!

Maybe this comes answered for a thousand times, however I am stuck with a dilemma about what to do.
V5.1HF1 provides smoothness, better frames rendered, however with limited VRAM I am having (6GB, usable 5.1GB on 1660Super) I have to deal with visuals downgrades in order to get suitable and decent VRAM usage to avoid DEVICE_HUNG errors.
V4.5HF3 is stable, VRAM is not something you take into account with DX11, and everything works perfectly, albeit with FPS being at cost if settings are not dealt with correctly.
Next to that ENVTEX+ENVSHADE+AS16 is what I generally use on day to day basis.

As most of you are long term simmers, same as myself, what would you say is better to stick to? Stay on V5 or roll back to good old 4.5HF3?

Thanks!

Rafal Haczek
3 hours ago, Predrag Danicic said:

6GB, usable 5.1GB

I'm no expert, but with this little VRAM, I would stay with 4.5.
I'm on 5.0 (I do not think VRAM usage has significantly improved between 5.0 and 5.1) and in some intensive scenery areas (I like flying big airports in FSL airbuses) I get around 6-7 GB usage to begin with. It won't go higher, but down to around 3-4 GB while departing, climbing and cruising, and rise again when approaching the destination airport. But I have 12 GB VRAM, so I don't get CTD's.
That is my experience.

• Like 1
Koen Meier
13 minutes ago, Rafal Haczek said:

I'm on 5.0 (I do not think VRAM usage has significantly improved between 5.0 and 5.1) and in some intensive scenery areas (I like flying big airports in FSL airbuses) I get around 6-7 GB usage to begin with. It won't go higher, but down to around 3-4 GB while departing, climbing and cruising, and rise again when approaching the destination airport. But I have 12 GB VRAM, so I don't get CTD's.
That is my experience.

i agree with you on that one. running 8gb of vram is the bare minimum for v5 of p3d. 

Predrag Danicic