• Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 Kareem Maged

Kareem Maged
  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 21 May 2013 - 07:39 AM

Hello,
Looking through YouTube I found a old documentary about Airbus aircraft, hearing the pilot commentary, I was surprised that sometimes they do not follow the ECAM actions to ensure saftey of the airplane, as if they do, some systems will be compromised, an example of this is from minute 18 to minute 23.
Probably Airbus has fixed such issues already and pilots are now more aware that ECAM doesn't show all arising problems.
My question is, will the A320-X be modeled this deep? where all systems are interconnected like it is shown on the video?

Kareem Maged

#2 CaptFarhadi

CaptFarhadi
  • Members
  • 113 posts

Posted 21 May 2013 - 01:11 PM

according to details that developers told us,yes.they all will be simulated.
But,ECAM is flawless.i'm a 320 pilot and this sentense is one of the most useful sentenses ever been in aviation:"trust avionics,more than trusting yourself".so,it is prohibited not following ECAM procedures.and here's the golden rule:"in abnormal conditions,first of all:proceed ECAM intructions.after completing ecam actions,when comfort,take a look at QRH.if you have enough time,dig out what FCOM says"

#3 skycruiser253

skycruiser253
  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 21 May 2013 - 02:02 PM

Can confirm that, CaptFardahi.
Kind Regards,

skycruiser253

#4 bstolle

bstolle
  • Members
  • 89 posts

Posted 21 May 2013 - 02:58 PM

Well, there are a few items where you need to use common sense and not strictly follow the ECAM without thinking e.g. switching off the PTU in case of certain hydraulic failures.
ECAM can't be 'flawless' because it simply can't consider or handle all multiple failures.
After 25 years of airline flying I naturaly stopped believing in flawless planes, systems, avionics etc.

Luckily the relationship between Airbus and their customers has dramatically changed for the better since Tims docu.